Challenge Update # 1: Connections

Note: Moving forward I’m going to try my hardest to make these updates as coherent and concise as possible. Sometimes I’ll update just one challenge and sometimes I’ll do both when I see fit. Here is my first attempt at both. Let me know what you think.

Dictionary: con·nec·tion (kə-nĕkshən)

n.

    1. The act of connecting.
    2. The state of being connected.
  1. One that connects
  2. An association or relationship

This week has been all about connections. Fortunately I’ve made more connections than I’ve missed and in the end I think I’ve come out on top.  In the most general sense of the term “connection”, when you make a connection you’ve accomplished something. Whether its connecting the pieces of a puzzle, solving a problem, or meeting someone new, you’ve done something noteworthy. On the flipside, missing a connection could mean a misunderstanding, hitting a road block, or  not meeting someone (new or old).

For the past week I’ve been missing all my connections on Facebook and that doesn’t worry me one bit. Not a day has gone by that I’ve been worried about what everyone else has been doing in their daily lives, mostly because I’ve been so concerned with my own life and the lives the people closest to me. After 5 days of being in Facebook Exile I’ve found myself  calling, emailing, texting, and “tweeting” (yeah I know it’s sad but true), more friends than I have before and I can already see a difference in my life and my cell phone bill (ugh!).

I made a great “connection” during kickball last season and for the first few months of our friendship we communicated primarily online because we were both stuck at work which made Gchat our only link to the outside world keeping us from going insane. After a several months of countless Gchat conversations we decided that it was time to initiate some RLI’s or Real Life Interactions. These RLI’s can be anything from getting coffee or lunch to going for a run or sitting on a couch.

Whether its a phone call, a text, a tweet or an RLI it’s a “connection” none the less and I will forever more appreciate these connections more than I will a status update, a poke, or having a sheep thrown at my face (btw wtf is that about?).

On the flipside I’ve done nothing but make connections since I started my new gig this past Tuesday. After 4 days, I’ve met some of the the most well grounded, tech savy, and intelligent group of people I’ve ever had the pleasure of associating with. Aside from the personal connections, I’ve certainly made a few intellectual connections as well. I learned that the new media industry is only a few years old and very few people can really be considered as experts because of its evolving nature, so I’m no better or worse than the next guy. The interactive ad space is a beast, point blank. If you can understand and control this beast then you’ll be able to swim with in the deep end. Right now I’m in the kiddie pool with my floaties but I’ll be swimming laps in no time. Sink or swim…

This week I was FSO (Figuring Shit Out). Next week I’m going to GSD (Get Shit Done). And the week after that, I’m going to MSH (Make Shit Happen).

These are just a few  of the “connections” I’ve made (or missed) in the past week. What about you?

~ by brwnbear on May 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
