Month in Review: I’m invested

Well the 30 day mark has come and gone. Lessons have been learned. Rules have been broken. Chanes have been made.

Food: I broke this rule about half way through and I was only partially upset with myself. I enjoyed eating my own lunches, saving money, and feeling a little bit healthier. I’ll keep at it as long as I can because it just makes sense but I won’t push myself to any limits.

Booze: This rule has certainly come and gone. If it weren’t for the one night at The Castle, I never would have thought about having a drink before my race. Here I am with a 1/2 marathon time of 1:47:32 (8:12 mile) and I’m feeling great. I know I could have done better but my lack of performance wasn’t due to the 6 beers I had two nights before but it was more of a mental and physical limitation. Looking back I know I could have pushed myself harder because the next day I was barely hurting. Next time it’ll be different and the pain will be worth it.

Phone: I’ve invested fully into the iPhone. I purchased the Apple Care protection plan. I purchased the cover. I’m going to merge all of my bills together. The phone isn’t terrible. The phone isn’t great. The phone is pretty convenient and it gets the job done. If I can manage a reasonable phone bill every month I won’t have a problem.

Even though I failed 2 out of the 3 challenges I think I still learned a lot. If you can’t take anything away from it why do it at all?

My next challenge is going to be a mental battle that will take me back to a time when I did just enough to get by. It’s going to consume my life for 30 days and failure will not be an option….

~ by brwnbear on July 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
